By default, all resident registrations must be approved before the resident can begin using their account to access restricted content. This lets administrators verify that the resident does indeed belong to their community, and that the resident registered with accurate information. Administrators will receive a notification by default for all newly registered residents, requesting that they visit the review center to approve or decline the registration. Once a decision is made, an email is sent to the resident letting them know the outcome.
You can have the website automatically approve all new registrations via the settings in the admin control panel, but this is discouraged.